GEP 2016 Program


December 11, 2016

Held at Temple Trees (Residence of the Hon. Prime Minister of Sri Lanka), Colombo


Inaugural Function

  Procession, Lighting the oil lamp, National Anthem   
Welcome Speech     : Rev W.P Ebenezer Joseph
  (Secretary General of the Interfaith Coalition for Peace) 
Introduction to the GEP : Dr. A. Sukumaran Nair

(Chairman of the Global Energy Parliament & Former Vice Chancellor of the Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam, India)

Keynote Address : Ven. Banagala Upatissa Nayaka Thero 
  (Chairperson of the Interfaith Coalition for Peace)   
 Founder’s Address : His Holiness Swami Isa 
   (Founder of the Global Energy Parliament and Founder, Isa Viswa Prajnana Trust, India)
Release of Books : Ven. Ittepane Dhammalankara Maha Nayaka Thero
  a. “End of the Divine Journey” by H.H. Swami Isa
  b. “Education for Total Consciousness” by H.H. Swami Isa
GEP Lifetime Achievement Award  
Presented by : Hon. Ranil Wickremesinghe
  (Prime Minister of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka)  
Presented to : Sir James R. Mancham, KBE
  (Founding President of the Republic of Seychelles) 
GEP 2016 Habitat Harmony Award  
Presented to : Arch. Kirtee Shah
  (Architect and Founder, Ahmedabad Study Action Group, India)

Address by Guest of Honour

: Hon. Ranil Wickremesinghe


 (Prime Minister of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka)

Vote of Thanks : Mrs. Ambapali Sikurajapathi 
  (Director, Yoshida Foundation, Sri Lanka) 

Morning GEP Parliament Session

Induction of Members by the Speaker : Dr. Reza Chowdhury
  (Director, Greenheart Medical University, Guyana)
GEP Prime Minister's Address : Sir James R. Mancham 
  (Founding President of the Republic of Seychelles)
Motion of Thanks to Founder’s Address : Deputy Speaker
Introduction of the Bill : Arch. Kirtee Shah (Architect and Founder, Ahmedabad Study Action Group, India)
Response to the Bill 

: Arch. Alain Moatti (Founder of Moatti-Riviere, France)

Amendments & Passing of the Bill  : All Members

Question Hour

Administration Minister T. Haridas (Officer at the Indian High Commission to the UK)
Agriculture Minister Hemakumara Nanayakkara  (Governor of the Southern Province of Sri Lanka, Former Deputy Minister of Agriculture, Sri Lanka)
Architecture Minister Prof. G. Shankar (Founder, Habitat Technology Group, India)
Communications Minister Dr. Danushka Meegahawatte (Head of Technology - Solutions at Dialog Axiata PLC, Sri Lanka)
Culture Minister Dr. M.R. Thampan (Former Director of the Kerala State Institute of Languages, India)
Education Minister

Dr. A. Sukumaran Nair (Former Vice Chancellor of Mahatma Gandhi University, India) 

Finance & Economy Minister

Dr Joy K Joseph (Professor of Business Studies, Glyndwr University, London)

Health Minister

Dr Pradeep Jeothi (Managing Director, Vasudeva Vilasam, India)

Law & Justice Minister

 Shiral Lakthilaka (Secretary Coordinator of the President of Sri Lanka, Attorney-at-Law , Sri Lanka)

 Women & Child Welfare Minister  Sarah Arumugam (Programme Director of the YWCA , Sri Lanka)
Science & Technology Minister

Dr. Christophe Dumas, Engineer, France


Sustainable Development Minster Ranjith Pathmasiri (Deputy Director General (Operations) at Sri Lanka Sustainable Energy Authority, Sri Lanka)
Religious Affairs Minister Father Ebenezer Joseph (Secretary General, National Christian Council of Sri Lanka)

Afternoon GEP Parliament Session

Speaker : Mrs. Upulangi Malagamuwa
  (Vice Chairperson, Rana Viru Seva Authority, Sri Lanka)
Youth Speaker Shoaib Khan (University of Delhi, India)
Submission on Agriculture : B. Wijayarathne (Secretary of Agriculture, Govt of Sri Lanka)
Submission on Health 1 : Dr. Lalth Kularatne (Researcher, National Rasa Medicine Council, Sri Lanka)
Submission on Health 2 : Dr.Sujakshi Haridas (Ret’d Physician from UAE)
Submission on Sustainable Development : Modi Umang Champaklal (Researcher (India)
Debate & Discussion  : All Members
Submission on Science Education : Prof. Widanapathirana (Professor of Microbiology, Sri Lanka)
Submission on Communications : Clement Pasquet, Independent Journalist (France)
Submission on Media : Ajith Venniyoor, Journalist (India)
Debate & Discussion : All Members


Submission on Culture :  Prof. Ariyaratne Kaluarachchi (Vice Chancellor of Sri Lanka Performing Arts College)
Submission on Peace & Diplomacy : Mervyn Macullagh (Strategy and Partnership Consultant, National Christian Council)
Submission on Child Welfare : Jo Manuel, Founder of Special Yoga (UK) and Julie Cox, Co-Founder of Holistic Special Education Foundation (Sri Lanka & UK)
Final Debate   : All Members
Discussion & Voting on Resolutions : All Members
Concluding Address : His Holiness Swami Isa

Cultural Program

Dance performance by Russian Cultural Centre

Dance and Musical Show by the Sri Lankan Navy

Vote of Thanks by Jayaratne Ruberu, Coordinator, GEP Sri Lanka


For the Press

Press Releases