The thirteenth Global Energy Parliament (GEP), organized by the Isa Viswa Prajnjana Trust, was conducted at the Raj Bhavan, Kolkata, on the theme of ‘Science and Faith.’

The two-day Parliament was attended by more than 120 delegates from 15 nations who deliberated on different aspects of ‘Science and Faith.’ The event was inaugurated by the Hon’ble Governor of West Bengal Dr. C.V Ananda Bose in the presence of Jagadguru Swami Isa, the visionary founder of the GEP.

In his Founder’s Address, Jagadguru Swami Isa stressed that faith and science are neither different entities nor contradictory. He added that self-awareness starts from the “I-thought,” and emphasized that one needs to remove the self-ignorance that is prevalent. He urged society to stop the divisions between the two and to shape our thoughts towards those of unity, seeing that everything is Energy, a manifestation of one Consciousness.


Inaugural Address GEP 2023 Swami Isa's Founder's Address at GEP 2023
His Excellency Dr. CV Ananda Bose inaugurated GEP 2023 His Holiness Jagadguru Swami Isa delivered the Founder's Address

In his inaugural address, Dr. Bose said, “There is nothing called dichotomy between science and spirituality. What is required is a type of understanding of what Swamiji has propagated,” in a reference to Swami Isa’s I-Theory, which promulgates that all matter, force and energy is the manifestation of a single vibration. “From a stage of dependence to independence, the world has reached a stage of interdependence. Anything that happens in the world has global ramifications,” he added.

This year’s parliament had an eminent and diverse set of Members of Parliament in attendance. A total of 20 Ministers from Agriculture to Water & Natural Resources presided over the House, answered questions and forwarded Bills and Resolutions.  The main 'Bill on Science and Faith of 2023' was moved by the Science and Technology Minister, Dr. Christophe Dumas. Youth Members of Parliament as young as 12 years old added a fresh perspective and new dimension.  The 'Universal University Bill of 2023' moved by Minister for Education Dr. V. Reghu was also passed along with several Resolutions throughout the two days. The focal areas were Science, Education, and Peace.  

Farmer Sangay Rinchen  Merlin Tag 

The Parliament concluded with a ‘Kolkata Declaration’ which declared that science and faith are two action planes of one thought, or two branches of knowledge, not separate nor opposing. A clear vision of the connection between one’s self and the universe is necessary to live as a fully developed humane human being, and both science and faith can contribute to such an enlightened vision, through the I-Theory.

The House resolved that for such a new culture and knowledge to emerge, a global institution of education is the most dire need of the day. It called for the building of a model Universe-City, a Universal University for human beings to live with total knowledge, develop humane qualities, and learn from birth to death, in an energetically balanced environment.

Furthermore, in the Inaugural Session Dr. Bose, who was the Speaker of GEP for 12 years, passed on the gavel to Dr. Kiran Vyas, Founder of Tapovan Open University of Yoga and Ayurveda and Former Attache to UNESCO.

This year’s GEP Award was bestowed upon Dr. S. Somanath, the Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) for excellence in furthering scientific understanding of our universe and our place in it. In his acceptance speech, Dr. Somanath spoke about the linkages between science and faith in our understanding of space and the universe.

The hand-crafted award in the shape of the I-particle, the seed of all knowledge, science and faith, was presented by Dr. C.V. Ananda Bose.

Award presented to Dr. S. Somanath Award Citation presented to Dr. S. Somanath
The GEP Award presented to Dr. S. Somanath.
The Award was given for contributions to furthering scientific understanding.

Five Committees were formed to promote the larger goals of the GEP: the Committee for Global Science Ethics, the Committee on Education, the Committee on Integrated Healthcare, the Committee on Sustainable Economy and the Committee on Arts & Culture. The Committees already started their work in the course of the Parliament; chairpersons were appointed and objectives drawn up for the work of each Committee over the next year, on which each Committee will make a Report to the 2024 Parliament.

The proceedings of the GEP concluded with a display of Bengali artforms including Chhau dance on the grounds of the Raj Bhavan.

The Global Energy Parliament extends our heartfelt gratitude to the Hon. Governor, Lady Governor and all the staff of the Raj Bhavan for hosting the 13th annual Global Energy Parliament.


Cabinet 2023

Speaker of Parliament : Dr. Kiran Vyas
Deputy Speaker : Dr. Mathews George Chunakara
Secretary : Dr. M.R. Thampan
Additional Deputy Speaker  
: Prof. Dr. Bindu RL
Minister for Culture : Ven. Banagala Upatissa Nayaka Thero
Minister for Environment
: Lady Carla Davis
Minister for Housing and Planning  
: Prof. G. Shankar
Minister for Science and Technology : Dr. Christophe Dumas
Minister for Peace and Global Affairs 
: Karin Tag
Minister for Power                                  : Dr. Guido-Henri de Couvreur
Minister for Education : Dr. V. Reghu
Minister for Sustainable Development 
: Prof. Dr. Asoke Bhattacharya
Minister for Human Resources              : Dr. Dirk Seeling
Minister for Forests                                : Dr. Marcus Guderle
Minister for Finance : Pradeep Kumar
Minister for Water & Natural Resources    
: Dr. George Varghese
Minister for Law and Justice : Satish Viswarambham
Minister for Women's Affairs : Prof. Dr. K. Rajeswari
Minister for Social Affairs                       : Dr. Divya C. Senan
Minister for Parliamentary Affairs       
: Ajith Venniyoor
Minister for Agriculture                          : Dr. Reghu Ramadas


Photo Highlights

Prelude Ceremony of GEP 2023 Inaugural Address GEP 2023 Lady Carla Davis and Governor of West Bengal
 GEP Award to S. Somanath ISRO Chairman  S. Somanath addresses GEP 2023  Outgoing Speaker hands over gavel to New Speaker
 Swami Isa's Founder's Address at GEP 2023 Venerable Banagala Upatissa Nayaka Thero at GEP 2023  Members of Parliament
 Members of Parliament  Members of Parliament with Governor  S. Somanath, Gov. Dr CV Ananda Bose, His Holiness Jagadguru Swami Isa, Venerable Banagala Upatissa Nayaka Thero
Speaker Dr Kiran Vyas and Founder Swami Isa Ricardo Leppe   Swami Isa
 Deputy Speaker Dr Mathews George Chunakara  Farmer Sangay Rinchen Dr V Reghu 
 Karin Tag Merlin Tag   Pradeep Kumar
Dona Baby Masami Saionji Dr Bindu RL and Swami Isa
Dr Bindu RL and Swami Isa   Dr Rajeswari  
Dr Christophe Dumas  Dr Guido-Henri de Couvreur Arka Das
Dr Dirk Seeling  Sunil Kanoria releases Unifying Vibration 2nd Edition Valedictory Function 
 Prorogue Ceremony  Dr Thampan receives GEP Governors Excellence Award  Book Exhibition
 Cultural Program Chhau Dance  Cultural Program Chhau Dance  Members after Parliament